BTEC National Extended Diploma

Level 3 in Business

Studying business opens up a lot of opportunity within various office-based careers whether you see yourself in business management, human resources or accounts and finance.

This qualification has been designed to be the only qualification in a two-year, full-time study programme; it is an in-depth study of the business sector. It supports progression to a variety of business careers.




Blended – in person and/or online

Casestudy overlay

What to expect from Skills Training UK

Energising and well-structured lessons, in small groups.

Individual support and mentoring to help you achieve your goals.

Access to our virtual learning environment for on-demand videos and materials to reinforce learning.

Extra support with English and Maths if you need it.

What does a learner need to do?

Attend regular classes either in-person or online.

Allow time for project work and study each week.

Talk to your trainer for support and guidance if you need more support.

Bring a positive attitude to class and any work experience to make sure you get the most from the opportunity.

Course content

The course comprises of 13 units, of which seven are mandatory and four are external. The core units are:

  • The Business Environment
  • Introduction to Marketing
  • Business Resources
  • Business Communication

Optional specialist units may include: Infection Prevention and Control; Psychological Perspectives; Scientific Techniques for Health Science; Microbiology; Caring for People with Dementia; Physiological Disorders and their Care; Nutritional Health, Understanding Mental Well-being; Genetics; Biomedical Science; Biochemistry for Health; Medical Physics Applications in the Health Sector; Health Psychology.


Students would need to have gained a Level 2 qualification preferably in Business or 6 GCSEs at 4-5 (C) or above including Maths and English.

5 x Grade 4 GCSEs including Grade 4 or above in English Language. GCSE Maths must be at Grade 3 or above.


Depending on the result of your assessment you may be awarded a Level 1 or Level 2 qualification.


Four units will be externally assessed by exams or set tasks – they are available at set times twice each year.

Internal assessments include a variety of tasks and project work.

Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction (D), Merit (M), Pass (P), Near Pass (N) and Unclassified (U).

See what you can achieve.
Request a call back from our friendly team.

    What course(s) are you interested in?

    YesWould you like to receive emails about future courses?

    Contact Us