BTEC National Extended Diploma

Level 3 in Health and Social Care

The BTEC First in Health and Social Care is designed to equip learners with the knowledge, understanding and skills to kick-start a career in health and social care.

You will learn about human lifespan development, health and social care values and a range of further knowledge and skills to support you to work successfully in a health and social care setting, such as hospitals, community and primary care or supported living projects.

This qualification has been designed to be the only qualification in a two-year, full-time study programme; it is an in-depth study of the health and social care sector. It supports progression to health and social care related degrees.




Blended – in person and/or online

Casestudy overlay

What to expect from Skills Training UK

Energising and well-structured lessons, in small groups.

Individual support and mentoring to help you achieve your goals.

Access to our virtual learning environment for on-demand videos and materials to reinforce learning.

Extra support with English and Maths if you need it.

What does a learner need to do?

Attend regular classes either in-person or online.

Allow time for project work and study each week.

Talk to your trainer for support and guidance if you need more support.

Bring a positive attitude to class and any work experience to make sure you get the most from the opportunity.

Course content

The course comprises of 13 units, of which eight are mandatory and four are external. The core units are:

  • Human Lifespan Development
  • Working in Health and Social Care
  • Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care
  • Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
  • Principles of safe Practice
  • Promoting Public Health

Optional specialist units may include: Infection Prevention and Control; Psychological Perspectives; Scientific Techniques for Health Science; Microbiology; Caring for People with Dementia; Physiological Disorders and their Care; Nutritional Health, Understanding Mental Well-being; Genetics; Biomedical Science; Biochemistry for Health; Medical Physics Applications in the Health Sector; Health Psychology.


To take this course learners should have achieved Level 2 qualifications in  (X) and (X)?


Depending on the result of your assessment you may be awarded a Level 1 or Level 2 qualification.


External Assessments include exams and set tasks – they are available at set times twice each year.

Internal assessments include a variety of tasks and project work.

Units are assessed using a grading scale of Distinction (D), Merit (M), Pass (P), Near Pass (N) and Unclassified (U).

See what you can achieve.
Request a call back from our friendly team.

    What course(s) are you interested in?

    YesWould you like to receive emails about future courses?

    Contact Us